WEARE FINANCE COMMITTEE AUGUST 28, 2018

- 1. The Weare Finance Committee met on Tuesday 28 Aug at 7pm at the Town Offices. Incumbent members present were Lori Davis, Keith Erf, Bill Anderson, Gregg McDowell, and Ellen Dokton; member Neal Kurk was out of town. Prospective members present were Susan Morin, Donna Osborne, Tom Clow, Dennis Aubin, Tammi Hagman, Megan Thellen, and James Drury. Also present were Town Administrator Naomi Bolton and Town Moderator John Foss.
- 2. Business.
 - a. Appointments. Moderator Foss appointed the seven prospective attendees to the committee. The new board will consist of thirteen (13) members which meets the Finance Committee Ordinance criteria that the committee have between 9 and 13 members. Moderator Foss administered the oath of office to those present and members reviewed and signed the town code of ethics. A copy of the Finance Committee Ordinance was provided to all members.
 - b. Administrative. Moderator Foss gave a brief summary of the purpose of the committee, its importance to the town, and the manner in which it should conduct business both internally and with other town and school officials. Being open to the public, having a willingness to listen, and being respectful of different opinions were all stressed. To summarize, the townøs voters have traditionally relied heavily on this committeeøs recommendations in meeting the townøs operational needs in a fiscally responsible manner.
 - c. Officers (Interim). A motion was made and approved to continue last years officers (Lori Davis, Chair/ Bill Anderson ,Secretary) in an interim capacity until the committee appoints permanent officers at a later date. Keith Erf was elected as Interim Vice Chair to replace Matt Whitlock who left the committee after last year due to term limits.
 - d. Assignments. Below members should check the town and school (SAU24 Weare and John Stark) websites for scheduled meetings and attend meetings involving budget issues: interim chair Davis will float amongst the following:

Town:	McDowell, Aubin, Clow, Drury
Weare School Board:	Dokton, Morin, Osborne, Thellin
John Stark School Board:	Kurk, Erf, Hagman
CIP:	Anderson, Erf

Though not assigned to a specific group, members should feel free to attend any of the town or school meetings to increase their awareness of process and specific budget issues.

- e. Meetings. A consensus of members was Wednesday evenings would work best for future meetings. However, as the budget season progresses after the new year meetings will be called as needed complete business in the time frame required for deliberative sessions and voting. The next scheduled meeting for the committee is Wednesday 26 September 7pm at the Town Offices.
- 3. Adjournment. The meeting was adjourned at 810pm. Bill Anderson Interim Secretary.