Weare Finance Committee

Meeting Minutes Wednesday October 21, 2020

Opening

The Weare Finance Committee was called to order on Wednesday October 21, 2020 at the Weare Town Hall Selectman's Conference Room by prior years' committee Vice Chair, Neal Kurk. No exact time was recorded as a Secretary had not been appointed. It was called to order

Present

Eileen Meaney – Town Moderator, Naomi Bolton – Town Administrator

Tom Downing

Megan Thellen

Leah Borla

Tom Clow

James Drury

Tammi Hagman

Rachel Cisto

Gary Evans

Neal Kurk

Bill Anderson

Nicole Herbst (via Zoom)

Dennis Aubin (via Zoom)

Christine Hague (absent)

Open Issues

Town Moderator, Eileen Meaney stated that there were three open positions on the finance committee and introduced the current members of the committee. New members were invited and are present at the meeting to be appointed to serve a three-year term on the committee. New members sworn in, as appointed, to serve 3 year terms were Rachel Cisto, Leah Borla and Bill Anderson.

New Business

Moderator Meaney distributed a Code of Ethics for committee members to sign. Once completed, nominations were accepted to fill the openings for Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary. Megan Thellen was nominated by Neal Kurk and she respectfully declined. Tom Downing was nominated by Megan Thellen and Tom Clow was nominated by Gary Evans. Votes were submitted by secret ballot and Tom Downing was elected with an 8-4 vote. Tammi Hagman was nominated by Tom Clow for Vice Chair and she respectfully declined.

Megan Thellen was nominated by Tom Downing for Vice Chair and accepted the nomination and position. Bill Anderson was nominated for the committee Secretary and he requested that another person volunteer or be nominated, but if there were no other nominations, he would accept the nomination. Leah Borla volunteered for the committee secretary and Bill Anderson respectfully declined the nomination, therefor Leah Borla was elected. The election results are as follows:

Tom Downing – Finance Committee Chair Megan Thellen – Finance Committee Vice Chair Leah Borla - Finance Committee Secretary

At the request of Committee Chair Tom Downing, Moderator Meaney reviewed the expectations and mission of the finance committee. The hard work and respectful discussion of the prior years' committee was recognized. The expectations of the finance committee are to be thorough and diligent in gathering and vetting information, transparency with information gathered and to ensure that the committee works toward achieving recommendations that serve the best interests of all citizens of the Town of Weare.

There was open discussion among the committee members regarding actions of a few of the prior years' Committee Members regarding the mailing of a flyer and the duty of transparency between committee members. There was some disagreement regarding the intent of the flyer. Committee members each respectfully voiced their concerns and rebuttals regarding these issues. Finance Chair Downing thanked everyone for their discussion points and the open discussion was ended.

Town Administrator Naomi Bolton reviewed the calendar of upcoming Board of Selectpersons meetings. They are scheduled as follows:

November 9 – DPW, Revenue, Wages and Benefits

November 16 – Police

November 23 – Fire

November 30 – Small Budgets

Naomi Bolton stated that they hoped to be completed by December 14, 2020.

Chairperson Downing opened discussion regarding the meeting schedule for the committee. The Finance Committee will meet every other Wednesday evening at 7:00 pm beginning November 18, 2020.

Chairperson Downing opened the floor for volunteers to serve as the liaisons for the budget committee reviews. It is noted that each committee member is not limited to attending only

their assigned committee. Members are welcome to attend discussions on any or all of them. The following are the liaisons for each committee:

Town – Dennis Aubin, James Drury, Rachel Cisto, and Tom Clow John Stark – Nicole Herbst, Neal Kurk, Gary Evans and Christine Hague Weare School – Megan Thellan, Tammi Hagman, Bill Anderson and Leah Borla

Agenda for Next Meeting

The next meeting agenda will be distributed prior to the meeting but it is anticipated that the first round of budget information received will be reviewed and discussed.

Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 8:28 pm by Tom Downing, Committee Chair. The next general meeting will be at 7:00 on on November 18, 2020, at the Weare Town Offices.

Minutes submitted by: Leah Borla, Secretary